09 luglio 2011

Esoteric Recordings ha recentemente prodotto le ristampe dei tre album degli Isotope, gruppo guidato negli anni settanta dal chitarrista Gary Boyle e di cui fece parte - nel periodo di Illusion - anche Hugh Hopper.

Esoteric Recordings is pleased to announce the release of the three classic albums by legendary British Jazz Rock group Isotope. The band was formed in 1973 by guitarist Gary Boyle and also featured Jeff Clyne on Bass, Brian Miller on Keyboards and Nigel Morris on drums. Jeff Clyne had previously played with Ian Carr's Nucleus, whilst Gary Boyle had played with Stomu Yamashta's East Wind. Isotope’s self titled debut album was released in early 1974 and continued the tradition of Jazz Rock fusion that had been pioneered by acts such as Tony Williams' Lifetime and The Mahavishnu Orchestra. Although critically acclaimed, Brian Miller and Jeff Clyne departed Isotope shortly after the debut album had appeared and were replaced by former Soft Machine bassist Hugh Hopper and keyboard player Laurence Scott. By the time the band's final album was recorded in March 1976, the band featured Boyle and Morris along with Dan K. Brown on bass and Zoe Kronberger & Frank Robertson on keyboards.