04 febbraio 2014

L'etichetta britannica Keyhole cura la ristampa in cd di Zimbabwe, secondo e ultimo album della formazione Assagai guidata a inizio anni settanta da Dudu Pukwana e di cui facevano parte tra gli altri Mongezi Feza, Louis Moholo e vari membri di Jade Warrior. Uscito per la Philips nel 1971, dopo un provino per la Vertigo, l'album circolò per qualche tempo in altra edizione con il titolo AfroRock, prima di sparire ufficialmente dalla circolazione.

The second Assagai album has an interesting and somewhat schizophrenic history. It was initially released in late 1971 under the name Zimbabwe: a test pressing was made on the Vertigo "swirl" label but the actual release of the album took place on the Philips label. The album's cover and sleeve were designed and drawn by noted album-artist Roger Dean. All musicians are credited on the back cover; Jade Warrior members Tony Duhig, Jon Field, and Glyn Havard are credited for both performance and songwriting. At some later date, the album was re-issued by the "Music For Pleasure / Sounds Superb" label, under the name AfroRock, with a completely different cover and sleeve. The back cover makes mention of the fact that the album had been released previously, but doesn't explain (or even mention) the change of name. No musician credits are given. This LP has reportedly been reissued in 2010 (as Zimbabwe). The reissue has been described as being an unauthorized, limited-quantity issue, very probably a dub from a first-generation vinyl pressing (i.e. not made directly from the master tapes). The cover is reportedly a reproduction of the original (including the Philips stock number), but the LP itself has black labels which do not mention Philips or Vertigo. Like Assagai's first album, Zimbabwe includes a mix of original tunes written by members of the band (including newcomer Martha Mdenge) and cover versions of Jade Warrior tunes - specifically Barazinbar (from Released) and Sanga (from Eclipse). There's also a new song Kinzambi written by Tony Duhig.